Fox, Copeland Named Co-POY

Fullerton's Ian Fox
— photo credit David Sanborn
Fullerton's Ian Fox — photo credit David Sanborn

The California Community Colleges Men’s Basketball Coaches Association announced this year’s All-California Team. In all, 24 players were selected to the first team and another eight players were awarded honorable mention honors.

San Francisco’s Zach Copeland, a 6-foot-4 guard from Oakland, CA, and Fullerton’s Ian Fox, a 6-foot guard from Redondo Beach, CA were selected as the state Players of the Year. Copeland and Fox have led their respective teams to an appearance in the state tournament. The Coast Conference-North Player of the Year, Copeland, a sophomore, averaged over 18 points this season for the Rams who are defending their state championship with another trip to the CCCAA State Tournament. A transfer from Idaho State, Fox was the All-Orange Empire Conference Player of Year and has led the Hornets into the state tournament. He averaged over 14 points a game this season, scoring a season-high 35 points in Fullerton’s state tournament opening game.
Fullerton and San Francisco also swept the Coaches of the Year Award as Justin Labaugh and Perry Webster were honored by the CCCMBCA for their efforts. Both programs finished the regular season as their, respective region’s No. 1 ranked team.

2016-17 CCCMBCA All-California Team

Coaches of the Year

Justin Labaugh, San Francisco City
Perry Webster, Fullerton 

Players of the Year

Zach Copeland, San Francisco City
Ian Fox, Fullerton

First Team

Jayvon Brown, El Camino-Compton Center
Darien McClain, San Diego City
Brandon Jolley, San Bernardino Valley
Jamar Hammonds, Bakersfield
Christian Drayton, Barstow
Vida Faniel, Ventura
Tre Nottingham, Mt. San Jacinto
TJ Shorts, Saddleback
Anthony Fitzpatrick, El Camino-Compton Center
Brian Beard Jr., Chaffey
Roderick Williams, East Los Angeles
Jihad Woods, Yuba
Erick Scheive, Yuba
Brett Reed, Cabrillo
Linton Acliece, Cabrillo
KJ Duronslet, Sacramento City
Stokley Chaffee, Las Positas
Antony Navarrete, Canada
Eddie Stansberry, San Francisco City
Anthony Smith, Feather River
Cole Morgan, Fresno City
Erik Poulsen, Santa Rosa

Honorable Mention

Deonta Woodard, Merced
Lewayne Grant, Columbia
Tyrell Alcorn, Merritt
Serigne Athj, Glendale
Michael Kalu, Canyons
Javan Perry, Miramar
Jailen Gill, Antelope Valley
Jeremy Smith, Citrus
Cristian Perez, Cerritos