Johnson, Chavez, Coleman Named State Payers of the Year

Johnson, Chavez, Coleman Named State Payers of the Year

Fullerton's Lance Coleman, San Francisco's Malcolm Johnson and Santa Rosa' Skylar Chavez have been selected the state Players of the Year by the California Community Colleges Men's Basketball Coaches Associations. Head coaches Perry Webster and Justin Labagh of Fullerton and San Francisco, respectively, were named Coaches of the Year. Webster and Labagh both have their teams in the state semifinals and poised, possibly, to meet in the state final on Saturday at 1 pm.

In all, 25 players were selected to the all-state team

Chavez, a 6-5, guard, led Santa Rosa to two state tournaments and currently leads California in scoring this season at 27.8 points a game for the Cubs, who were eliminated in the quarterfinals of the state tournament. He also averaged 7 rebounds a game and shot 53.2 percent from the floor and 87 percent from the free throw line. 

Coleman, a 6-6. forward, is 11th in the state in scoring, averaging 19.6 points per game along with 7.5 rebounds. He has played in 31 games for the Hornets who are headed into a semifinal game against Fresno City on Friday. He is shooting 48.2 percent from the floor and 44 percent from beyind the three-point line. 

Johnson, a 6-5, forward, played last season at Cal State Dominqguez Hills. He is averaging 13.5 points and 8.2 rebounds going into the Rams' semifinal game against Citrus on Friday. 

Meanwhile, Webster led Fullerton to the Orange Empire Conference championship. Labagh won his 14th Coast Conference championship and is looking to win his second consecutive state championship and his fourth overall.